top of page

'The King’s Beast' by Rei Toma Review

by Rei Toma: Volume 1 and 2


Synopsis:

Rangetsu struggles with the loss of her twin brother, Sogetsu, after he enters the royal palace to become Prince Tenyou’s beast-servant. Despite not having the special abilities that Ajin boys who enter the royal palace to become beast-servants have, Rangetsu is still able to show great strength when it comes to seeking revenge on those who caused the violent death of her brother. Upon entering the royal palace to seek justice, she discovers that everything is not what it seems, including Prince Tenyou.


Review of volume 1:

I want to start off by talking about the art of this manga- it was phenomenal, to say the least. Each character has so much detail to them that it really highlights the emotions that are being portrayed, as well as brought the character to life. It gave off a very soft, fairy-like aura due to how beautiful the designs were (ɔ◔‿◔)ɔ ♥. Each scene was depicted in such an endearing and gentle light which is evident from the books’ covers. Now that I have fangirled over the art, let's move on to the plot- this was a very easy read but I do feel that the pace ran fairly slowly. Don't get me wrong, It definitely had some impactful moments throughout which kept me attentive and intrigued. This type of plot or should I say the genre is my first; where the characters are Kemonomimi (Characters that have animal-like features) x Dynastic, which may be the reason why I didn’t quite hook onto the storyline.


Review of volume 2:

Again, there isn't much more I can say about the art style of these mangas because it was too beautiful to put into words. In this one, I quite enjoyed the growth of the characters- especially Rangetsu who completely shut herself off from others since the death of her brother but has now slowly learnt that it’s okay to have hope in people again. The development of her character kind of resonated with me- despite all the struggles she had faced she was able to open herself up and allow others into her closed off-world. One of the last chapters really had me tearing up, where we get to see a bit more about Sogetsu’s death and how this had impacted everyone including Prince Tenyou. (╥﹏╥)


Overall thoughts and feelings:

I have read the first 4 volumes of this manga so far but only have volumes 1 and 2 as hardback manga. I don’t think I will be collecting any more of this manga to add to my shelf but I hope to be able to finish the manga once the rest of the volumes are released. Overall, I would give this 5/10 stars. I’m a harsh critic but anything over 4 means I enjoyed some aspects of it. I mostly rated it due to the art and my love for the portrayal of the beast-servants. I think that because it is a new type of genre for me that I haven't quite grasped the excitement I should be feeling but I hope to be able to read similar manga’s in the future and then be able to say it is one of my favourites to read. Until then, I will be waiting on the next release…




Comments


bottom of page