top of page

Honey So Sweet by Amu Meguro:


















Synopsis:

Nao Kogure is an ordinary girl, just starting high school, and she wants nothing more than to make friends and have a regular school life. However, Taiga Onise, a boy from the same school, known for being a delinquent and causing all kinds of trouble, suddenly calls her out of class and hands her a bouquet of flowers with the intention of dating. Little did Nao know that one kind-hearted act of giving an injured Onise an umbrella and a box of bandaids could result in all of this. But is Onise everything he is rumoured to be or is he a sweetheart in disguise?


Review of volume 1:

Amu Meguro has a very soft art style that gives off an upbeat and happy vibe, especially with all the floral backgrounds which adds more cuteness to each scene. Taiga Onise is our male lead who has been labelled as a delinquent due to his unconventional appearance and the rumours others have spread about him, but he is, in fact, a complete softy; making homemade lunches, caring for others and saving turtles ╥﹏╥. Developing the idea of the ML not being everything they seem is always a great concept that draws the reader in. It reminds me of that phrase you always hear that ‘not everything is as it seems to be’ and ‘we shouldn’t judge a book by its cover’- there is so much more to people than just what we see on the outside.

In chapter 2, I enjoyed the manga panel where the reader gets to see Onise and Nao dressed up for Halloween. I also enjoyed Nao as the female lead as she is very sweet, I like that she is willing to protect those she cares about (e.g: when Misaki rips open the book guide). So far I really like all the characters including Yashiro, Misaki and uncle Sou. Yashiro is definitely a mood, and I vibe with her ‘Idgaf’ personality; Misaki is giving me very much chihuahua vibes and I think Sou is hot (he reminds me of Hirotaka Nifuji from Wotakoi: love is hard for otaku). I enjoyed the quartet of outcasts that are unlikely friends but are actually very supportive of each other.


Overall thoughts and feelings:

This manga is definitely not talked about enough in the shojo world, it's up there as one of my favourites. Unfortunately, there is no anime adaptation but there is a live-action film (which I have not seen), if an anime were to be released I know for a fact that it would be a huge success. The entire concept had me engaged throughout, it ticked a lot of the things off that I look for in a good romance manga. Currently, there are a total of 8 Volumes released, of which I only have volume 1 as a hardback but it is on my purchase list for when I’m not so broke. I have finished this manga and thoroughly enjoyed it so I give it a solid 8/10 🌟. I 100% recommend this for those who enjoy reading manga like My Little Monster by Robico as they are somewhat similar. This is all for my review of this manga, I hope to see you next week for the next one ヾ(⌐■_■)/


Comentários


bottom of page