top of page

Let’s Dance A Waltz by Natsumi Ando:


Synopsis:

Tango, is your classic popular schoolboy that everyone goes crazy for, from his good looks to his confident personality, however, he has a secret- he teaches dance. By accident, Hime (a shy girl that attends Tango’s school) happens to discover his secret. Hime has struggled with not living up to the expectation of her name that her mother gave her, which means ‘princess’, but finds inspiration to change her ways and become more confident in herself by joining the same dance school as Tango. Through hard work, she uncovers her love for dancing with Tango despite his resistance, and Tango is also able to uncover parts of his past self that he has tried to forget. Are Hime and Tango destined dance partners and maybe more?

Volume 1:

The cover gives off a typical shojo manga portrayal, but the plot does take a slightly different angle by approaching it from the male lead's perspective. There is also a bit of comedy within this story which helps with the flow of the plot. I like that the main character isn't the normal ‘small, delicate’ girl, instead, we get to see an example where appearance isn’t everything and shouldn't hinder you from doing the same things as everyone else. Just because your outer shell is different from everyone else doesn't mean you don't have the same capabilities or options as them.

One aspect that I can’t stand in shojo mangas is the bullies.

AGHDHGBDHDBKDBKHDKJHHGFHGFH \(`0´)/, e.g. when girls get jealous of the female lead for being close to the male lead- but I do understand that it is the stepping stone needed so that the characters can develop. Let's move on to my thoughts on the male lead: he's a bit of an a*** for the way he treats Hime: despite her not actually doing anything to provoke him he shuns her but still gives mixed signals that confuse her like saying ‘I kinda …miss you a little’ dafuk?!. I’m also not a big fan of his backstory due to it not being anything heartbreaking and traumatic, I felt that it didn't quite connect the reader with his character to the extent that it should of. His character's portrayal wasn’t for me, to be honest.


Overall thoughts and feelings:

The storyline developed quite fast which isn't that common in shojo manga but that is most likely due to how short the manga is- there are only 3 volumes, so this would be good for those who want something quick and easy to read. I did like it but it didn't quite pique my interest to the point where I wanted to collect all the manga, maybe because I have read many that are similar- younger me would have been obsessed because I went through a craze of just reading only romance mangas. I have read the other volumes and the storyline is cute and finishes nicely but I didn't have that feeling of satisfaction. I won't be collecting any more of the mangas as it’s not quite my style. I gave it a 3.5/10 just because I wasn't completely invested in the characters or the dancing concept. Anyway, until the next manga…(・⊝・)


Commentaires


bottom of page