top of page

Don't Be Cruel 1&2 by Yonezou Nekota- (BL/Mature)


Synopsis:

Nemugasa, a scholarship student, is blackmailed by a playboy called Maya for cheating on a test. Maya uses this to make Nemugasa do as he says, including some rather raunchy stuff. Despite the love-hate relationship, Maya slowly begins to develop feelings which are evident in the change of his attitude, whereas the oblivious Nemugasa is yet to realise this. This story focuses on the power of love between two people from different worlds and the struggles they will face.


Volume 1:

The first part of this manga contains coloured pictures of both Nemugasa and Maya which are very fascinating to look at ( ¬ ‿¬). Starting off with the main characters; the relationship between these two definitely isn't a conventional one and can be quite intense to read about, but over time I gradually changed my perspective due to the development of each character. The troubles that they have to face especially being from two different worlds is refreshing to read about, it's a very common trope but I very much enjoy the bad boy and nerd storyline. And I also can’t forget to mention the spicy scenes, they weren’t quite censored unlike some lightsaber scenes- so this is a warning for the faint-hearted to prepare yourself.


Volume 2:

Despite the character development, I was quite upset at Maya for the way he treats Nemugasa but I also tried to see it from his perspective, however, that does not justify his actions (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻…Despite this, there is one particular scene that I enjoyed which was the transformation Akira (Maya’s cousin) gives Nemugasa, I like being able to see the different sides of characters. Towards the end, we get to see a snippet of what the couple’s child would look like and this was by far the most precious concept picture. *whispers* the steamy scenes were also immaculate, I just love both of their blushing faces- truly magnificent hehe.

Overall thoughts and feelings:

The first thought that came to my mind when I finished this manga was that I’m glad the misunderstanding was cleared up quickly. It’s very hard to admit one's feelings because of being afraid of rejection or the fear of not being good enough as well as other things- It requires a lot of courage and confidence to be able to be open up about how you feel. This is definitely one of my favourite BL manga, I am yet to collect the other volumes but they are on my list.

For me, this manga is definitely 8/10 ⭐. I have read some other volumes (I believe I am up to date) due to being such a good read and let me tell you they do not disappoint. The couples have their struggles but they always bounce back with the power of loveeeee. I also own the manga for the side story for Akira Takanashi which I will make another post about as it deserves its own recognition. But until then, I will be waiting patiently for the next release…


Comments


bottom of page